Postings by Guest ID 43821

GO!

Behavior & Training > Dogs barking and lunging at bicycles, motorcycles or skateboards

Clancy

Barked: Fri Oct 4, '13 6:43am PST 
This is a great post. I have an almost 6 month old mini schnauzer and I am trying anything and everything to get him to stop barking and lunging at other dogs and people when we are out on our walks. He is not aggressive just overly friendly. In other words if he could approach the other dog or person he would not bite or growl. He went to puppy kindergarten where they instructed us to use the slip lead collar and jerk it when he is misbehaving. I am not sure how I feel about this because he gets so excited that I have to jerk pretty hard and I don't like to do this. I am just getting into the clicker training although he seems to ignore the click when we are outside. I haven't clicked with a trigger yet. We are using zuke's minis for rewards which he likes. Any ideas?
[notify]
» There has since been 2 posts. Last posting by , Oct 4 12:32 pm

Grooming > Help! My mini schnauzer got his hair cut too short.
Clancy

Barked: Sun Jul 21, '13 3:40pm PST 
Thanks Ava and Nix!
I am glad someone feels the same way. I am sure my little "teddy bear" will be back to his old self in no time.
I appreciate the support.
[notify]
» There has since been 1 post. Last posting by , Jul 24 11:27 am

Clancy

Barked: Sun Jul 21, '13 5:23am PST 
No worries. I am not offended. Before I got him though, I was reading so many things where the opinion was "a schnauzer should have a schnauzer cut" and they kind of made me feel like a bad parent. Now I realize I can have him look however I want and he will be just as happy, intelligent and adorable as a schnauzer with the "schnauzer cut".

I may have wishful thinking but I think I already see bits of hair peeking up from the tops of his ears. It will only get better (or longer) haha from here.
[notify]
» There has since been 4 posts. Last posting by , Jul 24 11:27 am

Clancy