Is anyone else disturbed by...

(Page 2 of 2: Viewing entries 11 to 16)  
1  2  
Sadie Mae *- CGC - SD *

People are too- easy to train!!!

Barked: Tue Apr 1, '08 8:49am PST 
QUOTE- I dislike when people pmail me after I've offered assistance where I first state "I am NOT a professional trainer or behaviorist. This is what I've learned from researching Mack's issues:"

I agree it is an exchange of ideas ,use what you like and what works for you as long as it is fair to our furry friends.

A real eyeopener is to teach a group of kids and listen to them and they will open your eyes to things that had not occurred to you. Their perception can be amazing.

Some of my best ideas come from students as I always tell them to think outside the box and they will come back with some great ideas.
Never be afraid to learn from others you would be surprised by what little tidbit you might need in the future.
Mocha Bear- (Mokie),- VGG, KPA,

CEO of Rewarding- Behaviors Dog- Training

Barked: Wed Apr 2, '08 10:04am PST 
Ash,

I haven't checked group in a few days and was wondering if our phone call last week spawned this? LOL!

I know exactly what members you are talking about.

I've actually discussed this with a few of my fellow B & T pals lately. I don't care if someone's a professional or not and wants to offer advice in the forums.

What I do care about is the dishonesty. I know for a fact that bad information kills dogs and has the potential to hurt or maim people.

I get mad when people call themselves "behaviorists" when they are obviously not. I feel like "behaviorist" is a title I dream of achieving someday. Khola is my friend, and I have a lot of respect for how hard Khola's "person" has worked toward the eventual goal of earning this distinction. It makes me mad when people self-apply a title which takes a large amount of dedication and focus to earn. Calling myself a "behaviorist" would be disrespectful to my friends who are legitimate behaviorists.