Bad news today

Dexter

Barked: Fri Jun 19, '09 7:45pm PST 
The worst of my fears were confirmed today when I found out that Dexter, my 8 year old Blue Heeler had acute pancreatitis and Diabetes with DKA. We had to take him back to the vet today because in spite of his excessive drinking, he was dehydrated. The parmacy also din't fill his scrip for insulin so we have to wait another day for the vet to call them back.
As a healthcare professional, I understand the gravity of this situation and it really scares me. Dexter is my baby and I love him so much!
David
Lily

Lily - Woo woo woo woo- woo woo woo!!!

Barked: Sun Jun 21, '09 12:18am PST 
Oh, no Dexter! We are so sorry to hear the news. Diabetes is tough. Our mommy has it and she takes insulin too. If there is anything we can do, pawlease let us know. hug
Dexter

Barked: Tue Jun 23, '09 6:40am PST 
Any suggestions on how to give him the insulin shots? I'm a healthcare professional and give shots all the time but giving dexter a shot is like trying to thread a needle while riding a bucking bronco. Just about dosed myself twice!
The vet told us to gently pinch up an area of skin behind his neck or shoulder blades and inject it there. He usually squeeles duing the injection and jumps. Now, whenever we hold him back there he goes crazy. I have been trying to pet him and manipulate his skin to get him used to the feeling and that works fine but he seems to "know" whenever hes going to get his shot and goes grazy. It takes two of us about 30 minutes to do it.
The irony is that he tolerates his Sub-Q fluids there just fine. ...and its a huge needle compared to the insulin needle.
I have tried giving the insulin sub-q in his leg which he tolerates a bit better and is a little easier to immobilize.