GO!

any advise im new to the australian shepherd breed

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

maddy

Barked: Fri Jun 12, '09 9:41pm PST 
i just got an aussie puppy shes what ive found out called a lethal white? shes deaf and blind i got her off craigslist because i saw her pic i contacted the owner and she said this pup was as she put it (destroyable pup in an otherwise great litter of aussies) so i had to take the puppy i felt terrible the lady said she was going to do her own version of euthinasia to the pup had she not found somebody to take it off her hands. so here i am with a new aussie in my family of corgis and an irish setter iv a corgi thats deaf but ive not had a dog both deaf and blind any advise given is a big step for us
[notify]
Kado

Couch Potato

Barked: Sat Jun 13, '09 3:53am PST 
Hi, I don't know much about deaf and blind dogs, but I found some links for you. I raised a deaf Dalmatian when I was young.

I am so glad that you have this little sweetie!hug

A deaf and blind dog is generally trained with "touch." Scent and a vibrating (not shock) are used as well. Safety is very important, as your doggie can easily get lost and/or hit by a car. So always keep her in a very secure enclosed area. Also make sure she cannot slip her collar when you take her out. You might want to use a harness to be on the safe side.

I would suggest that you introduce her to your house gradually. So start with keeping her in one small area. Also, get a crate for her. You will want to leave items with your scent on it for her -- to calm her and make her feel more secure.