GO!

Aggressive or Assertive?

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  
Binga

Queen Beeyach

Barked: Wed Jul 9, '08 9:30am PST 
I saw an article recently that listed Cattle dogs as 5th most aggressive. What is your experience? Mine... I find that Binga is assertive in her opinion. I am new to this though and not certain if I am just not admitting that she is aggressive.

Her specific behaviors are:
issues with men that result in nipping
nipping young children (if they are running past her)
barking and growling at puppies that come up to her
resource protection, but if you are willing to play ball she lets up on this

She's known as the Q-Beeyach at the dog park.
[notify]
Argus

Scout's little- brother

Barked: Fri Jul 11, '08 5:08pm PST 
I have no experience with this breed but my son has a new ACD puppy. He seems to be agressive when it comes to eating ... he eats fast and then will proceed to eat my sheltie's food and the cat's food ... I am trying to get my son to interrupt during his eating ... the last thing we need is to have a dog possessive of his food
[notify]
Oswald

hey, you gonna- eat that?

Barked: Sat Jul 19, '08 8:22am PST 
Aggression implies an intent to harm and it doesn't sound like that is what Binga is doing. It sounds like she just wants to control her environment....and who doesn't. We've been able to train Oswald to stop nipping people (we hope). He never nipped kids, but would nip strange men on occasion. If more people would just wear boots, then it would be a non issue darn-it.

Peace.
[notify]

Binga

Queen Beeyach