GO!

When to stop on walks. On the long side.

Small dogs have big personality! This is the place to talk up your favorite small breeds, ask questions, and share tips and stories. Be sure to visit our Small Dog Breeds area for profiles of all your favorite small dog breeds, featured articles, and more!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Misty

Can I chase it?!

Barked: Mon Aug 22, '11 10:46am PST 
Hello everyone!
As some of you may know, I picked up a stray chihuahua (Lil Bit)about a week and a half ago and it's seeming increasingly unlikely that I will find her previous owners so I consider her part of the family now. I am totally new to small dog ownership so I need some help.
I have two larger dogs (50lb shepherd mix and 25lb cocker spaniel) We also just moved to a small apartment. There is a yard I share with other tenants on the lot but I am afraid the dogs will destroy something if I lose sight of them for even a second so I don't use it very often. Instead I try to take them on lots of walks. Our morning and evening walks (before and after work)are about 30 minutes and I try to take them out for a third walk before bed which lasts about 15-20 minutes. These walks are just enough to keep the larger dogs from going bonkers, but a leisurely pace for us is a fast jog for Lil Bit. I've heard that chihuahuas need to be walked about 30 mins a day, and we do at least double that and I'm worried that it might be too much for her. At the same time, I don't want to be one of those small dog owners who babies their dogs to death. I try to watch for signs that she needs to stop and I use a retractable leash so she can go a little faster or slower than us if she wants, and she never sits or lays down when we stop to sniff something. She's an old girl though and it just seems like a lot.
I'm sure I sound like a nut case for being so freaked out over this but I really want her to be healthy and happy. Any help you guys can offer would be great!