GO!

Recovery for spaying procedure

Small dogs have big personality! This is the place to talk up your favorite small breeds, ask questions, and share tips and stories. Be sure to visit our Small Dog Breeds area for profiles of all your favorite small dog breeds, featured articles, and more!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Juliette- Rose

Mama's Girl

Barked: Mon Aug 16, '10 12:49pm PST 
My puppy just got spayed today and I am so worried about her healing process. This is my first time dealing with this procedure. Any tips on how to aid recovery for her?
[notify]
Addy, CGC

Let's go for a- walk!

Barked: Mon Aug 16, '10 1:53pm PST 
The vet should have given you instructions.frown

She needs to be kept quiet--no running and jumping, limited potty walks only--until the stitches come out, which should be about ten days. She can't have a bath until then because the incision has to be kept dry.

You need to make sure she leaves the incision alone, because if she licks at it she could cause an infection or rip some of the stitches out.

She has just had major abdominal surgery; the vet ought to have given you pain meds for her. Good pain management HELPS healing, and reduces the risk of complications.

Most dogs do just fine after spay surgery, and are more likely to want to resume normal playing too soon than to have a slow or difficult recovery. Just don't let her kid you about it being okay to play before the stitches come out!
[notify]
MattieMay

Agility Diva!

Barked: Mon Aug 16, '10 3:14pm PST