GO!

Returned an adopted rescued doxie and regretting it. Should I try to get her back?

This is a special section for dogs needing new homes and for inspiring stories of dogs that have found their furever home through Dogster or through the love and energy of rescuers. This is also the place to discuss shelters, rescue organizations, rescue strategies, issues, solutions, etc. and how we can all help in this critical endeavor. Remember that we are all here for the love of dog! If you are posting about a dog that needs a new home, please put your location in the topic of your thread so those close by can find you! Make sure to check out Dogster's dog adoption center!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Barked: Thu Apr 18, '13 12:54am PST 
Hello - I have no prior experience with dogs and would really appreciate any help you can provide. My entire life I have had a phobia for dogs. When I was a kid I could not be near a dog without almost crying of fear. However now as an adult I try to use reason and logic to help me get through my fear and now I can be around dogs as long as the owner provides some guarantee that the dog will not attack or bite me. My current partner is a dog lover and has had dogs her entire life. This past weekend we decided to adopt a rescued doxie. My partner immediately bonded with the dog and I did my best to pet the dog, feed it, walk it, etc to also form a bond. However, within 72 horus of having the dog in our home she barked and growled at me four times. My partner works from home and spent a lot of time with the dog. She also knows how to handle and cuddle dogs, so clearly the dog loved her. However, I work outside the home and the first day I came home with the dog there she barked at me. I tried to show the dog that I am part of the home and that I also take care of her. That evening I walked and fed her. However later in the night she jumped out of her bed at me barking, which triggered my phobia and I screamed