GO!

Want service dog and have very limited options/resources, help!

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Barked: Fri Jan 31, '14 8:59pm PST 
Hello everyone, I am new to Dogster and decided to try it because I found while scouring the internet trying to find information on PSDs. I am an 18 year old university student and I have been suffering from mental health issues for about four or five years now. I am on medication which is not really helping and is risky for me to take due to other medical problems within my family. Looking for other alternatives, I discovered service dogs which seemed like a fantastic idea because I love animals and being around my dogs back at home always helped me to feel a little better. The only issue is that every organization that trains and provides service dogs that I have contacted (numerous times) have not responded and I have been unable to find any more resources in my area. Another issue for me is the fact that since I am a student I have little to no budget and training a dog would potentially be difficult with having class. But on the other hand my illness is really affecting my schooling and my life so I feel like I could create a schedule within which I could train a dog if need be I just have no idea where to start or what to do. I am located in Guelph, ON and I would greatly appreciate any help or advice since I have been struggling for information for months now! Thanks guys- my email is smlang8@hotmail.com
[notify]
Bunny

Black dogs rock!