GO!

ADA Service Dog Link

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Service Dogs in Training

Service Dog in- Progress

Barked: Sat Dec 29, '12 7:56pm PST 
Hi there!

I'm a weekend trainer for New Horizons Service Dogs. I research a lot about service dog laws and policies so I feel confident about informing businesses about the laws when I go out with the dogs.

However, today while at Beef'O'Brady's as I sat down the manager came over a requested paperwork and certification. She told me the dog could not be in there, asked if I had a disability or problem, and continued to request the paperwork.

I informed her that Apollo is a service dog in training for New Horizons Service Dogs and under Florida law a trainer has the same access rights as a person with a disability. She persisted that her boss has made a rule to require paperwork. I told her according to federal law certification is not required for service animals to gain access. She just continued on about how she can't allow the dog in if I don't have certificates so next time I will have to have the paperwork to be allowed in.

I understand that this is illegal but I feel it is a case of misinformation. I am planning to go again next week to give them Florida Law and Federal Law. I've pulled up Florida Law but does anyone have the link for the ADA federal law for service dogs? (I know the ADA doesn't include dogs in training but I think this business needs the laws regarding service dogs as well)

Thanks for your help!