GO!

puppy advice

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Need info on service dogs

Barked: Wed Dec 12, '12 12:00am PST 
im reading cesar millans book - how to raise the perfect dog - as a starting point to learning about raising a puppy as it is something i have never done before.

one of the big things he mentions is not to let the puppy have the run of the whole house as they crave structure and rules - which makes sence. but he said his collegue upon getting their puppy kept her in her crate in the laundry room or in the backyard for the first week and that its best to pretty much ignore them for this time - doesnt this seem more than a little cold? wouldnt this cause a dog anxiety issues to be left alone all the time when they are meant to live in a pack? i mean i understand thier need for rules but i find this more than a little restrictive and harsh.

this runs contrary to everything ive known until this point.. is this really what raising a puppy is like? i want my SD to sleep with me for reasons relating to my disorder - a number of my tasks are nighttime ones. and i want to be able to enjoy him being a puppy - not keep him in a crate where he can look but not experiance. i dont want a dog that seeks its crate for comfort - i want a dog that stays with me all the time and is allowed on the bed, couches ect. without being unruly.