GO!

Service Dog for P.T.S.D

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Athena

Barked: Tue Jul 17, '12 1:43pm PST 
Hello, I am very new to this page I just have a few questions for all of you "In the Know"

I have been in 7 car accidents and have been struggling with nightmares, severe flashbacks, anxiety, trouble driving, trouble focusing, and controlling my nerves in public from my first accident when I was 8 years old to my most recent one when I was 20. I adopted my dog Athena from the pound last year, I thought I was just adopting a beautiful dog, then I discovered she was waking me up from nightmares and laying her head on my chest calming my heart down, she paws, licks, whines at me(anything to pull me out)when I am going through a flash back, she pulls at my arm when I get tense and shaky while driving, and when in public she is touching me at all times causing a calming sensation so I no longer drift off. I talked to my doctor about it and she thinks service dogs are a joke, so I can't a prescription for her officially. I don't know what to do, I don't want to take medication and I don't have the money to go to a therapist all the time. Is it so bad that I found something that works, That helps me through what I have been going through most of my life?

I don't have any support from people in my life about this so I turn to the community who seems to know smile I thank you in advanced for any information you can share with me.
[notify]
Dingo

All business no- play, I have a- job to do