GO!

Apartment charging fees for service dog?

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

Chloe

Barked: Sun Dec 20, '09 1:16am PST 
Hello all!!

I'm new to Dogster and am having a bit of an issue with my migraine service dog Chloe.

I am 21 years old and am looking to get an apartment with a friend. All of the apartments I'm looking at have no issues with me having a service dog, especially because she's only 20 lbs. However, they want to charge a pet fee for her.

Now as far as I'm concerned, doesn't this go against the ADA's laws for service dogs as a service animal is not considered a pet? It's like charging someone to have medication on the premisis. shrug
[notify]
Scooter

Work hard; Play- harder.

Barked: Sun Dec 20, '09 3:13am PST 
The ADA doesn't cover housing. The Fair Housing Act does.
[notify]
Ollivander

Super Silver- Service Spoodle

Barked: Sun Dec 20, '09 7:04am PST 
Scooter is correct, housing is under the FHA and not the ADA. The apartment cannot charge you a pet deposit, but they do have a right for verification of your need for accommodations. This usually takes the form of a letter from a doctor that states you have a disability and that your dog is required for you to manage your disability.
[notify]

Abby - CGC

Where's my- pillow.

Barked: Sun Dec 20, '09 9:25am PST