GO!

Can Small breeds be Therapy dogs?

The Service and Therapy Dog forum is for all service and therapy dogs regardless of whether or not their status is legally defined by federal or state law, how they are trained, or whether or not they are "certified." Posts questioning or disputing a person's need for a service or therapy dog, the validity of a person's service or therapy dog, or the dog's ability to do the work of a service or therapy dog are not permitted in this forum. Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Yasha the- Russian Toy- Terrier

RrrrrrRRRRrruff.

Barked: Fri Mar 17, '06 12:25pm PST 
Hello everyone!

I work in a hospital, and there is an old couple who bring around two silky Yorkies into the ICU. They are allowed in by our hospital, which is a Military hospital. I know that rules for non military hospitals may be different, that is why I am asking here. I give back to people with my job, and I would love Yasha to be able to give back too. However, first things first.

I have a few questions about therapy dogs:

1. Can a small breed be a therapy dog for a hospital or nursing home?
2. What kind of training would my pup need to go through?
3. What is the 'age' for training to begin for these special programs?
4. Can my puppy be assessed by a professional to see if he has the right temperment to become a therapy dog?
5. As a new dog owner, is it possible to do this training with a new puppy? I realize I need professional help, but am not sure how much help I would need!
6. What classes did your pup take? Do you recommend any books or programs?

Thanks so much!
[notify]
Jackie

Vote Jackie!

Barked: Fri Mar 17, '06 12:44pm PST