GO!

Raw diet cost effective?

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
RIP Tyson

RIP

Barked: Wed Nov 13, '13 11:47am PST 
So, I'm new to feeding raw, and I have lots of questions.

We have two dogs, a mini Aussie and a mini dachshund. Our Aussie is terribly allergic to everything. We've been feeding him Dr. E's limited ingredient. He was doing great on it until recently when they changed the formula. He started to have awful runny poops and vomiting bile. Our other dog stared vomiting as well so this was the only thing we could track it down to.

http://www.doctorsfinest.com/Healthy_Buffalo_dog_food_p/dr.%20es %20buff.htm - here's a link to the dog food we were feeding him. We tried another brand named Merrick for a little bit but honestly we didn't want to run the risk of him being allergic to it. So we've decided on raw.

I haven't found a recipe that makes raw cost effective. I'm really rather new to it. Here's what I'm hoping for. We spend $60 a month on a 30lb bag of dog food, making it about $2 a day. Is raw cost effective? Is there a specific recipe anyone knows that makes it exceptionally effective?

Thanks!
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Wed Nov 13, '13 2:22pm PST 
Figure the total weight of both dogs and multiply by 2% x 30 to get the daily feed then the total amount of food needed monthly. It won't be as much as you fear.