GO!

Do you reuse your ziplock baggies?

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Henry Miller

He's a tramp,- but they love- him!

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 7:54pm PST 
I have been feeding raw for about 3 years now. I usually buy meat for the month, divide it into his 8 oz. meals, and put each in a ziplock bag in the freezer. I feel really guilty about how many bags I go through. But it seems like it could possibly be a health risk to be reusing them, even if I wash them out. Am i crazy?
What do you guys do?

Edited by author Tue Jun 5, '12 8:45pm PST

[notify]
Maggie,- Tika, &- Porter

Aussie-tastic- Trio

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 8:07pm PST 
Depending on what is in the bags and what the quality of the bags are depend on if I keep them or not. Green tripe and other stinky foods just get the bags tossed. Chicken and beef I usually keep and wash/rinse/reuse (wash in hot soapy water, rinse with hot water, and thoroughly dry inside-out). I only keep the higher quality bags as well, otherwise they end up tearing and or leaking.
[notify]
Charlie

The world is my- food bowl!

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 8:39pm PST 
I'm on the same page as MTP. I wash out most of my bags, but if they hold stinky organs or tripe, I toss them to avoid my sponge gettin' all stanky.
[notify]

Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Tue Jun 5, '12 9:53pm PST 
I peeled the baggie off the food and stuffed it into a small box right back in the freezer. No washing. If the baggie didn't come off or was ripped it went into the trash.