GO!

Kibble mixed with raw food

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your dog's diet, please contact your vet!

Yogi in- loving- memory

Double Trouble

Barked: Thu Feb 23, '12 10:40pm PST 
Hello - I am new to the concept of raw diet but this site has been very helpful. Our german shepherd puppies are 9 weeks old and have been on a mix of kibble and raw chicken with fruits and vegetables. I would eventually like to switch to raw but I'm not 100% confident yet on mixing the raw meat in right proportions. So while I learn I was wondering if dry grain free kibble mixed with raw chicken with some giblets, carrots, parsley, garlic and apples is appropriate? I also noticed many postings mention bones, what kind of bones, and how old do the dogs have to be before I can start giving them bones (I assume raw)?
Thank you kindly for any helpsmile
[notify]
Mr. Jake the- Beagle

I am Murphy's- Law Embodied! <3- Me!

Barked: Thu Feb 23, '12 10:56pm PST 
I've heard mixing kibble and raw is bad. I did that for a day or so but jake kept getting stopped up. So i just put him entirely on raw. There's a really nice feeding guide on the "So Your thinking about feeding raw" form. Jake gets a little kibble every once in a while in a wobbler kong or as a meal when he's in boarding because were i board does not support Raw nor would i be comfortable leaving them to feed him raw.

I believe some of the people on here have always fed their puppies on raw.