GO!

What to do, with car fear?

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions-big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

Boo- Bearing-Ton

Sooo FLUFFY!

Barked: Tue Jun 26, '12 5:06pm PST 
Boo is 8 weeks old just came home this weekend and hates the car flips out every time I take him with me, he literally screams and makes a digging motion in my lap, or where ever he is He will not calm down for anything (not treats, not if I hold him close, not if I put him in a crate) even if it's not moving he still screams and cries, as soon as we get in. I am a real estate agent and would like to take Boo every where with me to the office, to showings even to negotiations and I'd hate to leave him at home because I want it to stay this way with us being a team! I understand he is still young but Im trying not to have this turn in to a huge life long fear of getting in the car. Any suggestions?

NOTE: I am not driving with him in my arms I am in the passenger seat holding him, or he is in his crate in the backseat
[notify]
UCH Onyx TT,- CGC

Do you even- lift?

Barked: Tue Jun 26, '12 7:20pm PST 
Baby steps. Start off just taking him near the car, playing around it, giving him treats, ect. Then open the car doors and repeat. When he's comfortable with that, try taking him in the car, leaving the doors open, and playing/treating him there. Then turn the car on, ect. ect. If at any point he starts screaming, you've moved too quickly. Go back a step, or as many as needed to relax him, and begin again. Don't rush this process or try to do all the steps in one session, it may take several days or even weeks.