GO!

Sleeping Too Much

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions-big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

Mac

Sir.- Sleep-A-Lot!

Barked: Tue Jun 12, '07 8:25am PST 
Hi, I'm a newbie here and was wondering if it's normal for our 12 week old puppy to sleep too much. He sleeps all day and will get up to eat, or relieve himself. He'll play for maybe 1/2 hour in increments. Am I worrying for nothing?
[notify]
Mingus, CGC,- R3GL

www.phetched.com

Barked: Tue Jun 12, '07 8:35am PST 
If he's eating, drinking, going to the bathroom, etc. normally (i.e. doesn't seem sick in any other way) I'd say you're worrying too much! big grin Puppies really do sleep A LOT. (And yet it's amazing how much trouble they can get into those brief times they are awake!) He's probably sleeping about the same amount as any other puppy. Enjoy it while you can, 'cause before you know it, he'll need LESS sleep and have MORE energy! laugh out loud

edit - How long has he been with you? When puppies first come home, it's kind of stressful for them getting used to their new surroundings, so they might sleep more then, too.

Edited by author Tue Jun 12, '07 8:36am PST

[notify]
Mac

Sir.- Sleep-A-Lot!

Barked: Tue Jun 12, '07 8:40am PST 
Thanks for the response. He's been with us for about a week and a half now. He's doing fine in everything else!
[notify]

Greta, CGC

Please pet me,- PLEASE, PLEASE,- PLEEEEZE!

Barked: Tue Jun 12, '07 8:54am PST