GO!

Calling all Vet Techs for advice!

This is the place for pups to exchange ideas and information about a variety of dog-related topics. Don't furget that there are many great resources on Dogster such as Dogster Answers and Dogster Blogs!

Charlie

The world is my- food bowl!

Barked: Mon Nov 29, '10 8:09am PST 
I worked as a vet tech for 4 years, up until this August when I had to move away. Technically speaking, I was a "vet assistant" as I was never certified, but in actuality, I did everything a certified vet tech would do... mostly because my old boss was cheap and didn't want to pay us that much laugh out loud.

Before I moved I decided to enroll in Penn Foster's Veterinary Technology program, as where I was going had no accommodations for campus programs within reasonable distance. I knew that it wasn't really a great program... but I feel that I know the career already, why should I overpay to relearn it in college? I'm starting to lose confidence in the program because every review I read is nasty and degrading, saying that people using the program won't ever get to where they want to be.

I'm really at a crossroads here.. Honestly, the way I feel about college right now is that I have to drag myself through it in order to get a stupid piece of paper that says I can practice (because experience isn't worth crap anymore). However, I don't want to pay for this program and then not be taken seriously by possible employers...

What do you guys think? Is it worth waiting and looking for another program? We're only going to be living in this area for another 6 months at most.
[notify]
Maple Leaf

Where's the- Squirrel?!

Barked: Sat Dec 4, '10 6:54pm PST 
Is say it would totally be worth it to get certified. I realize that the program may not be the best, so you may want to find one that's more reputable. I considered Penn foster for a dog training program and decided against it myself. Goodluck
[notify]
Uno

I'm huntin'- wabbits