GO!

Dog Food recommendation

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

(Page 3 of 4: Viewing entries 21 to 30)  
1  2  3  4  
Juniper CGC

SQUIRRELLLL?- Where??

Barked: Sun Oct 25, '09 6:23pm PST 
As a trainer and puppy raiser for one of the largest service dog training schools in North America, I have a lot of experience with seeing the effects of different foods on dogs. When I started raising guide pups, the national foundation required that ALL pups be on IAMS (though I don't know for sure, I suspect the national training center receives free or highly discounted food from IAMS, and since the pups will be going back there for training, they must be on that food). The first pup that I had was on IAMS when I got him. He was horribly itchy and had diarrhea all the time. I was instructed to switch to Purina ONE. His itching improved a little, but his skin was still itchy and flaky, his coat dull, and he had sporadic diarrhea a couple times a week. This dog (who was doing exceptionally well in the training program and would have made an unbelievable guide) was released from training for food allergies (basically, his system didn't handle "crap" well and since he couldn't eat the same food the other dogs could, he was out). I adopted him as a pet, and immediately switched him to Blue Buffalo. I noticed an instant change in him. His stool became darker and firmer, and was deposited in much smaller amounts. His itching diminished, and his coat developed a healthy luster. He is no longer on any sort of medication and has a vigor that I have never seen in him before (note that previously, he was on chronic anti-histamine and anti-itch meds