GO!

Is this balanced?

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

(Page 1 of 4: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  

Barked: Sat Nov 9, '13 7:04am PST 
Hi, I'm new to homecooking. First, I fed raw diet but now my dog can't handle it well anymore, so I cook for her now for about 3 months. So i just wonder if these recipes are balanced? My dog has about 93 lb and she eats about 1.8 lb a day. She is 2.5 years old and she doesn't have any medical problems (she only had some ear issues month ago), she doesn't handle too much grains in her food well and sometimes she has digestive problems (runny or mucus stool).

Chicken recipe
3.5 lb chicken thighs
1 lb chicken, pork, beef meat and fat
2 lb beef offal (usually liver, sometimes kidney and spleen)
1.5 lb vegetables (carrot, beetroot, broccoli, pears, apples, lettuce, spinach, tomatoes...)
2 lb cooked grains (rice, oatmeal, cornmeal, pasta)

Pork recipe
4.5 lb pork gullet
1 lb pork, beef or chicken meat and fat
2 lb beef offal
1.5 lb vegetables
2 lb cooked grains

Pork and fish recipe
4.5 lb pork gullet
2 lb beef offal
1.5 lb fish (sardines or salmon)
1.5 lb vegetables
2 lb cooked grains

Duck recipe
5.5 lb duck (whole)
2 lb beef offal
1.5 lb vegetables
2 lb cooked grains

Beef recipe
5.5 lb beef meat, gullet, heart or lung
2 lb beef offal
1.5 lb vegetables
2 lb cooked grains

I also add raw meaty bones to every recipe like: chicken heads and backs, pork head and spine, beef "soup" bones, turkey necks etc., but I give them raw. Sometimes she also gets dehydrated green tripe and dehydrated rabbit ears. I give her salmon, olive, sunflower and pumpkin oil and algae suplement. Sometimes she also gets milk, yogurt or egg.

Edited by author Sat Nov 9, '13 7:09am PST

[notify]
Maxwell