GO!

Green tripe - cooked?

This is the place to share your best homemade dog food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your dog's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Bandit

i love the beach

Barked: Wed Mar 6, '13 7:34am PST 
Hi!
I've been feeding my dogs raw for 9 months. Long story short, my husband - the germaphobe - can not deal with the raw diet and so we are putting them on a homecooked diet instead. I have one allergy (contact environmental) dog and the other is very healthy. I am hoping the homecooked diet helps my allergy dog, as the raw was.

The decision to switch was abrupt, and I had just ordered 5lb of green tripe and 5 lbs of beef offal. I can cook the offal and throw it in the mix, but can I cook the tripe?

Has anyone ever fed cooked tripe?

Also, another question. My dogs did well with a higher bone/meat ratio than the 10% standard (they were getting more like 30-40% and had good solid poops). On cooked their poops are soft, almost runny. Any advice on what may be causing this? To start, we've fed them chicken breast and veggies (75%/25%) and ground pork/brisket blend with veggies (again 75%/25%). They also get kefir, kelp, and ground eggshells.

Thanks so much!
[notify]
Maxwell

I'm triple- superior MAD- now!

Barked: Wed Mar 6, '13 8:41am PST 
At least he is willing to let you cook for the dogs. Cooked fresh is better than commercial stuff if you are on top of it all. A little liver, some fatty fish and mostly red meats along with that calcium - right?

Um, a dogster was seriously irritated with her neighbors and did something with green tripe. She left the house while whatever it was was going on. You could cook it outside so you don't gas everybody out of the house. Really I would try to resell the stuff to a local raw feeder.