GO!

New puppy might have distemper!

This is a special place for pups to share their love and support for each other during difficult times; it's a place to light candles, give the "Power of the Paw," and let everyfur know they are never ever alone.

Noelle

lost and found

Barked: Tue Dec 9, '08 12:34pm PST 
Hello everyone. I'm new to Dogster. I rescued a puppy yesterday that got dumped. She was doing great yesterday, but became sick overnight. She doesn't want to eat today, although she did yesterday. Just started having diarrhea and I think I heard a little coughing last night. I took her to the vet today. He says she has a little bit of fever and sounds like some bronchitis. He prescribed an antibiotic and dewormed her. He went ahead with the first distemper combo vaccine, in case she has something else. She's about 3 months old and has probably never been vaccinated. Even though it could be any number of things, the vet warned me that distemper is bad in this area and he can't rule it out yet. We have to see how she will do over the next few days and weeks. I just can't stop worrying about it. I have another dog that played with her and drank after her yesterday, but the vet says my other dog should be fine because she is vaccinated. I sure hope so. I guess I'm just wondering if anyone else has dealt with distemper and how it went. She might just have a little respiratory infection, though. The antibiotics might take care of it. The diarrhea could be from a change in food. I' don't know. I guess I'm just looking for someone to talk to about it.
[notify]
King Jackal- Jackson

Appreciate me- for the gift- that I am!

Barked: Sat Jan 3, '09 10:54pm PST 
We're keeping our paws crossed for a pawsitive update on Noelle.

wishes, Jack & the gang
[notify]
Sparky

Hurricane Ike- Pound Puppy

Barked: Sat Jan 3, '09 11:28pm PST