GO!

Bloat & Sorbitol concerns...

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

w

Barked: Mon Jul 14, '08 3:15pm PST 
We were wondering...what do you GSD know about bloat and eating positions? Is the chance of bloat increased by eating from a bowl off the floor or from a bowl on a stand?

Also, is sorbitol safe or dangerous for dogs? I thought it was a suger of some sort??? I brush Kaine's teeth reguarly and saw that ingredient and for some reason, I thought it was bad...

Kaine & Ashley
[notify]
Sirius Black

Always there to- guide the way.

Barked: Mon Jul 14, '08 4:49pm PST 
Being an "A" type personality by trade (and profession), I asked my vet the Sorbitol question and he mentioned it's a matter of amount. Yes, you're right it's an artificial sweetener used often in sugar-free and diet food/drink products. He advised I never feed Sirius anything artificially sweetened since Sorbital can be toxic, but also mentioned if it is one of the last ingredients on an ingredients list, a small amount wouldn't necessarily hurt him (such as you mentioned with the toothpaste).