GO!

What should I feed my lab/collie pup?

Discuss ways to improve the quality of your dog's life and longevity through proper nutrition; a place for all of your questions and answers about feeding your pooch!

Please keep discussions fun, friendly, and helpful at all times. Non-informative posts criticizing a particular brand or another poster’s choice of food are not allowed in this Forum. References to any brand of food as "junk," "garbage," or other harsh names will be removed.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Megan

Ninja- Sneaky and smart

Barked: Sat Dec 8, '12 4:02pm PST 
She is 6months old, 42lbs, and relatively active. I'm new to the puppy scene (Most of my dogs have been over a year or 2 old) and I've been feeding her Beneful® Healthy Growth for Puppies. I want to feed her the best I can without breaking the bank. I live near a Petsmart, so any suggestions that I could find there or is Beneful a good choice?
[notify]
Lily

Woof!

Barked: Sat Dec 8, '12 4:16pm PST 
Check out dogfoodadvisor.com, they rate dog food by ingredients.
[notify]
UCH Onyx TT,- CGC

Do you even- lift?

Barked: Sat Dec 8, '12 5:07pm PST 
I'd read the first post in this thread: So You Are Confused By Dog Food. It explains how to choose a healthy kibble, and at the end of the post lists some foods with good ingredients and foods that are usually best avoided.

ETA: Since your dog is a growing, large breed puppy, you'll also want to look at calcium levels when picking a food. This thread is worth looking at on that subject: Large Breed Puppy Nutrition

Edited by author Sat Dec 8, '12 5:29pm PST

[notify]

Savannah- Blue Belle

A Heart of Gold!

Barked: Mon Dec 10, '12 9:46am PST