GO!

sore feet

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

Kobe

Barked: Sun Apr 8, '12 4:45pm PST 
hey. i'm new to dogster, although i have been part of catster for awhile...we just adopted a four month old mix named kobe.

he's doing really well except for one thing: both of his back feet have sores on them. we've gone for a couple walks and what we think is happening is that he hasn't been out and about too much and his paw pads aren't used to the wear and tear of being out. he was at a foster home where his primary exercise was on their back deck or back yard. we were at the vet yesterday (he has a minor cough which we are keeping an eye on) and she said that his pads basically need to callus up and to try not to cover them too much so they do. we think that when he walks, he's twisting his feet in a bit and walking on the heels of his feet.

so, what we've been doing (we've had him since thurs night, noticed the sores fri night) is wiping his feet with a warm, wet paper towel after walks and trying to keep them uncovered. today, because both of his back feet/ legs seem sore, we cleaned the sores with mild soap and water, put neosporin on them, and wrapped them up for a couple hours while he napped. we're going to take a break from walks for a couple days i guess. also, he's acting completely normal otherwise smile

does anyone have experience with this? i would appreciate tips on what to do for him, especially because he seems a little uncomfortable and i want him to enjoy going out for walks and running around the backyard.
[notify]
Kali

She's game for- anything that's- fun.

Barked: Sun Apr 8, '12 5:34pm PST