GO!

Lump after removing a tick

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
UCH Onyx TT,- CGC

Do you even- lift?

Barked: Thu Apr 5, '12 7:00pm PST 
Found a tick on Onyx after he'd been out playing, it couldn't have been attached for more than 1-2 hours. Pulled it out, got the head, rinsed the area.

Now there's a lump there, which according to my Google search, is not unusual. My question is, how long before it should go away? When should I start to worry?
[notify]
Chance

How You Doin'?

Barked: Fri Apr 6, '12 4:28pm PST 
I have no experience with ticks. Hopefully someone who does will see this!
[notify]
UCH Onyx TT,- CGC

Do you even- lift?

Barked: Fri Apr 6, '12 4:47pm PST 
The lump is almost completely gone today.

That's the good news. The bad news is I just found another tick. I removed it but I'm less sure on whether or not I got the head this time.

This is probably a stupid question but can ticks walk around if the head is detached? Because I stuck it in a bowl while I was looking Onyx over for more ticks and when I looked back at it, it was walking around. Does that mean I got the head?
[notify]

Moose

I love sitting- in laps

Barked: Fri Apr 6, '12 10:24pm PST 
Mikey got 2 or 3 ticks and as someone who's never pulled a tick off of dog, I took him to the vet to get the first one removed. I wasn't sure if it was a tick or not because it had gotten way down in there and only one little leg was sticking out.
After it was pulled, the area had a lump for a day or two from the "trauma" of the tick and then it went down over a few days.
Each tick he had, he had similar lumps after they were removed.
[notify]
Toto, CD, RN, CGC

We don't do- doodles!!!