GO!

Human Benedryl for Dogs

This forum is for dog lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your dog.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Scout: - Always in- our hearts

Got- Aloha?

Barked: Thu Jan 12, '06 8:16pm PST 
Hi-
Anyone giving humane benedryl for dogs with allergies??
Paws,
Scouters
PS Dusty thanks in advance your advice!!
[notify]
Nibbler

I just farted on- your pillow :)

Barked: Thu Jan 12, '06 8:25pm PST 
hey,

not personally, but i know lots of people who do (i'm a vet tech...er NIBBLER"S MOM is a vet tech!)

It is good to have on hand for emergency things (vaccine reactions, hives) but in the long term for something like a food or inhaled allergy, it may not bestrong enough and you might need something prescription from the vets. It seems that sometimes Benadryl isn't enough and dogs still itch... but it might work for you.

It also works well for carsickness! That's why Nibbler has it! For long car trips! But be warned, while it makes most dogs/people sleepy, it can also cause some dogs to get hyper. Fortunately, I am one of the lucky ones (nibbler sleeps like a log on it.)
[notify]
Dusty

Food is meant to- be shared with- me.

Barked: Thu Jan 12, '06 9:09pm PST 
Hi Scout,

Have you tried a new diet? Benedryl is good for a one time reaction, but it just masks the symptoms, not addressing the problem. I started to do some research for you, since I know that you have such severe allergies. One thing I found is if you give a tsp of local honey to the food, this will help build antibodies against the local allergens. It has to be a honey made near you since its the local plants. Did you have an allergy test done?