GO!

Breed selector

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

Barked: Fri Nov 23, '12 8:31am PST 
Hi dogster! I'm a college student waiting to get a dog until my two yea degree is finished and I have a place of my own (approximately 1.5 years time) we have two dogs at home but neither would be coming with me.

For sake of convenience I'm looking for a dog who weighs 25-50 pounds. I'd prefer a coat that isn't too demanding but for the right temperament that's not a major concern.

I'm looking for a dog that will be easily trained and handler oriented, with a strong desire to please. I have high hopes of training this dog off leash. I'd like an affectionate dog, but not a dog thats in my face all the time. I'm looking for a dog with medium energy, I have no problem providing 45 minutes of daily exercise and some days if I'm not busy it would be more (whether biking or walking or hiking local trails). I'm looking to possibly try agility with this dog as well.

A dog that is friendly enough with strangers. I'd prefer to avoid dog breeds known with higher instances of DA.

And just for the record: I will be looking to most likely adopt my dog but I want to have a list of breeds so I can either go through breed specific rescue or just know which breeds to look for in shelters.
[notify]
"Selli"

The Muddy- Princess

Barked: Fri Nov 23, '12 3:54pm PST 
Can you tell us what breeds your family has and what you like or don't like about them?
[notify]

Barked: Fri Nov 23, '12 4:53pm PST