GO!

Adopting a deaf/blind dog into a family w children..

If you are wondering what is the right dog for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about tail wagging and learning.

(Page 2 of 4: Viewing entries 11 to 20)  
1  2  3  4  
Bunny

Black dogs rock!

Barked: Fri Feb 17, '12 4:25am PST 
I have no experience with blind/deaf dogs, but when I think about all the ads I have seen on Kijiji with people looking to re home their dogs because they have no time for them, I have to wonder how in the world someone with small children is going to find time to handle the training challenges that are going to come with a deaf/blind dog?
[notify]
Sadie Jo- Forever in- our hearts

Helping others - one dog at a- time

Barked: Fri Feb 17, '12 5:23am PST 
It can work if the family is committed and responsible. I've done rescue for many years and have placed 1 dog that was blind and deaf into a family with young children. She was a Australian Shepherd mix and the family had a 3 year old son, 6 years later and everyone is still doing great, they've never had a problem.
A family member of mine had a blind and deaf double dapple dachshund for a little over 5 years. She was wonderful with children. Sadly she was stolen in Houston last year and never made it back home.

It does take a lot of training, and I will stress again that only someone who is fully COMMITTED & RESPONSIBLE should have ANY dog.
[notify]
Dr. Watson

Not a wiener- dawg!

Barked: Fri Feb 17, '12 11:07am PST