GO!

Walking new dog in park...

This is a place to gain some understanding of dog behavior and to assist people in training their dogs and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. This can cover the spectrum from non-aversive to traditional methods of dog training. There are many ways to train a dog. Please avoid aggressive responses, and counter ideas and opinions with which you don't agree with friendly and helpful advice. Please refrain from submitting posts that promote off-topic discussions. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

Barked: Wed Oct 31, '12 1:53pm PST 
Hi, I'm new to Dogster and have a situation that I need help with.
I've just become the owner of a sweet pure bred four year old retired show dog. He has tons of dog show experience but zero "walking in the park" experience. In other words he's used to being around many other dogs who are well controlled but not used to unleashed dogs just running up on him. He walks well on his lead and is quiet and polite when meeting other dogs--so far all the dogs we've met are friendly. I'm concerned that people are bringing their dogs right up to him without asking me or worse, allowing their off lead dogs (this is an onlead park only) to rush up to him. Today we had three come running up. My dog has handled it well, he is good natured. But what happens if a dog runs up who want to fight with my dog?? If my dog gets into a fight, he is a breed who will be blamed no matter who starts is or what the outcome.... Is there anything I can do? Thank you for any response.
[notify]
Nare

Woo-woo- whineybutt

Barked: Wed Oct 31, '12 2:02pm PST 
Just wondering, how long have you had him?
You might want to look up something along the lines of '2 week shut down'.