GO!

About to do some serious training

This is a place to gain some understanding of dog behavior and to assist people in training their dogs and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. This can cover the spectrum from non-aversive to traditional methods of dog training. There are many ways to train a dog. Please avoid aggressive responses, and counter ideas and opinions with which you don't agree with friendly and helpful advice. Please refrain from submitting posts that promote off-topic discussions. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

Rain

Future agility- star!

Barked: Sun Sep 23, '12 11:31am PST 
Attempt #2 laugh out loud

I am new to owning a large breed, so maybe I'm doing something wrong.

Lizzie, my 4 year old Chi knew 40+ tricks before she turned 2, very easy to train (clicker trained)

Rain is a 7 month old Golden/Lab. I cannot keep her focus for even a minute. For instance, I have been working on stay with her since she was 2 months old, she will not stay for longer than 10 seconds, when I'm standing right in front of her, or when I'm a few steps back shrug

She knew come 100% when she was younger, i could let her off leash any where, around the time she turned 5 months it just all out the window and she has selective hearing.

She is also OVERLY food motivated, her bottom lip even quivers and its just so hard to keep her focus with food around. Should I try using toys as her reward?

Any training tips would be GREAT.

her counter surfing is HORRIBLE. I've seen all Kikopups youtube videos and have tried them, but I must still be doing something wrong confused
[notify]
River Dancer

Born to Wiggle

Barked: Sun Sep 23, '12 4:04pm PST 
Welcome o Rain's teenage yearsblue dog