GO!

Are boxers usually hard to train?

This is a place to gain some understanding of dog behavior and to assist people in training their dogs and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. This can cover the spectrum from non-aversive to traditional methods of dog training. There are many ways to train a dog. Please avoid aggressive responses, and counter ideas and opinions with which you don't agree with friendly and helpful advice. Please refrain from submitting posts that promote off-topic discussions. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other dog owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

(Page 2 of 2: Viewing entries 11 to 12)  
1  2  
Tucker

A tail that can- clear a table

Barked: Wed Jul 25, '07 5:15pm PST 
I'm no expert on boxers, but I'll tell you about my 'granddog' Molly, a white boxer (my daughter and soninlaw's dog).

They had no experience training a dog, but had wanted a white boxer for a long time...so they read up on how to train (most any dog), with consistency and repetition. They also took Molly to a puppy kindergarten class.

Now maybe white boxers are more calm and laid-back, but Molly's never been what you'd call 'hyper' or high-high-energy. Yes, she had quite a bit of energy when younger (she's now 7)but for the most part is quiet and laid-back...and from the start, they did simple training with her, and she's about the best, sweetest, gentlest, plus smartest dog I've ever seen.

They walked her every day around the perimeters of the yard (an acre), and she's never gone out of it (it's not fenced). She understands to stay in the backyard, and doesn't ever venture out to the front (where the road is). She's 100% reliable on anything she's told or asked to do. I'm still always amazed at the things she understands, and how she responds.