GO!

Hi everyone!

This is a forum for bonding with your fellow Dogsters about the traits, quirks and idiosyncrasies of your favorite breed. Please remember that there are absolutely no animal sales or requests for studding or breeding allowed on our sites. All posts and interactions should be in the spirit of Dogster's Community Guidelines and should be fun, friendly and informational. Enjoy!

Ruby

Ruby-affection- nut.

Barked: Fri Feb 22, '08 1:47pm PST 
I'm new to owning dogs since I have previously only owned cats. For Christmas my bfriend took me to the humane society where I met and picked out Ruby, an Australian Cattle Dog mix.
What I am wondering is this-She tends to get a strange odor about her even after a bath. Do cattle dogs have any scent glands? I thought maybe they did somewhere on her rear as she is always biting it there. Is there some kind of special shampoo I should use on her? I love her, but when she gets like that, it makes me sick being around her because of the smell. I definitely don't want that! Please help someone!!!
[notify]
Jersey

Daddys little- Princess

Barked: Sat Feb 23, '08 12:03pm PST 
Yes, my mother-in-laws blue heeler has the same problem. Everytime she goes to the vet, she gets her anal glands 'cleaned out' . Usually dogs anal glands empty when the defecate due to the pressure, but not all! The next time you go to the vet, have him/her check out the anal/scent glands and hopefully that will help!!!

Here's a website that might help:
http://www.barkbytes.com/medical/med0029.htm
[notify]
Ruby

Ruby-affection- nut.

Barked: Sat Feb 23, '08 3:41pm PST 
Thank you Jersey. When I said Ruby bites her rear, she does so up on top. Would there still be scent glands there? How often does your mother law take her dog to the vet to have this done?
[notify]

Jersey

Daddys little- Princess

Barked: Sun Feb 24, '08 11:29am PST