The Ragsdogs


Mixed Breed
Picture of The Ragsdogs, a female Mixed Breed

Photo Comments

Home:Little Rock, AR  
Age: 30 Years   Sex: Female

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

   Leave a bone for The Ragsdogs

Special Gift Box:
St Nickolas
St Nickolas
 

Nicknames:
I call our dogs the "Ragsdogs" because my last name is Ragsdale, but it's the dogs of the family instead.

Sun Sign:
Quick Bio:
-dog rescue

Birthday:
March 2nd 1984

Likes:
They all just love being outside and having a good time playing with eachother and their Mommy. We're a pretty active family and love to do things outdoors, and anywhere I can go and take the dogs with me is a plus.

Pet-Peeves:
Being away from Mommy!

Favorite Toy:
Eachother first and foremost, but they love all sorts of stuffed toys, squeeky toys, chew toys, balls, ropes, and of course anything kong.

Favorite Food:
Favorite treats include anything by Wellness, Natura, and Dogswell, any other sort of healthy, natural dog treats and cookies, meat (raw and cooked), bullysticks, bones, flossies, cow ears, pig tails, beef knuckles, moo tubes, peanut butter, and cheese.

Favorite Walk:
Some of our favorite places to go are Lake Beaverfork, the nearby pet stores, the Coffee House, and other parks and hiking trails in the area. Really, the dogs are always happy to go anywhere with me and love the outdoors in general.

Best Tricks:
We train the dogs using positive reinforcement and a clicker. We also use some principles of Nothing In Life is Free (NILF).

Arrival Story:
I'm proud to say that all of my dogs were rescued in one way or another. Personally, I've never believed in buying dogs from breeders - since I'm not involved in showing or anything like that, having a purebred/registered dog has never been important to me. I've always felt that it was better to adopt and therefore save a life, especially because I'm only interested in dogs as pets, and a rescued mutt (or rescued purebred!) is just as good of a companion as any registered dog from a breeder. I'm also a strong advocate of spaying and neutering, which goes paw-in-paw with helping to save pets by addressing the overpopulation issue. There are so many dogs and cats in shelters and rescues that need homes - why create more?

Bio:
I finally decided to go ahead and make a Family account for all of my dogs. I figured this would be a good account to post group pictures on and post on the forum from my point of view instead of the dogs'.

Forums Motto:
The Ragsdale Family Dogs

The Last Forum I Posted In:
fact or myth

About Mommy:
My name is Janna and I'm 24 years old. Animals and nature are two of my biggest passions in life. I love doing things outdoors - off-roading, hiking, camping, boating, rock climbing, horseback riding, and more. Besides outdoor activities, I like to read and write, do crafts, listen to music, watch movies, and play on the computer. I love to collect things, and one of my biggest hobbies is my model horses. Job-wise, I help out with my boyfriend's dj/karaoke company (more about that below) and work part-time at a small, local pet store. In addition to my normal duties, I'm the store's Canine and Feline Nutritionist. I also hope to mentor with the store's obedience trainer soon. I'd like to become a professional dog trainer in the future, but for now I'm focusing on training my own dogs and doing private lessons for friends.

About Daddy:
My boyfriend, Bryan, is happy to call himself Daddy to my dogs. He's 47 years old and owns karaoke/dj/entertainment business. He hosts two shows a week himself, and secures venues and hires DJs to do shows elsewhere for us. As the karaoke business might suggest, two of Bryan's favorite activites are bar-hopping and singing. Besides work-related stuff, he enjoys outdoor activities, golf, boating, reading, computers, gaming, fine dining, and watching movies.

Home Sweet Home:
The dogs are inside/outside dogs. During the day, they like to spend their time outside playing if the weather is nice. Our yard is four acres, and they have nearly full run of about two of those acres (the other two will hopefully be fenced and home to my horse soon). Our dogs are all kept in our yard by an electric boundary. While that type of fence might be controversial because of the shock element, we swear by ours. Riley is an expert escape artist and is notorious for digging out of any fence. At our old house, I was constantly filling in holes with rocks, and she'd just dig new holes every day and move rocks that I thought would be too heavy for her to budge. The electric boundary is the only thing that can stop her and keep her safe and off the streets, plus it is a lot more affordable than trying to build a fence for such a big yard. It works well for our neighborhood too, since several of our neighbors let their dogs roam freely and they can come in the boundary even though our dogs can't come out. That way our dogs often have company over to visit and play. At this point the dogs know where the boundary is and not to cross it, so their collar boxes are actually set to beep only as a reminder and not give a shock. When inside, they love to hang out in the living room where their toy boxes and beds are.

Nutrition:
Nutrition is a big deal in our house. The dogs' main diet is grain-free kibble. We rotate between several brands (Evo, Instinct, Core, and Taste of the Wild usually) and all the different flavors of those brands. They also get several prey-style raw meals each week, and sometimes we add grain-free canned food too (Evo, Instinct, and Core). The dogs also get some home-cooked food (leftovers from out dinner) several times a week, and that's the only time they get grains like leftover rice and pasta. We try to have the same high standards when it comes to treats and mostly like to stick to grain-free treats. Occasionally we'll bend the rules a little and have treats that aren't totally grain-free but are still healthy and don't have any of the "no-no ingredients". Favorite treats include anything by Wellness (Pure Rewards, WellBites, WellBars), treats by Natura (Evo treats, Karma Organics, and Mother Nature treats), treats by Dogswell (jerky treats and Biscuits With Benefits), any other sort of healthy, natural dog treats and cookies. They also love getting meat (raw and cooked), bullysticks, bones (and raw meaty bones), jerky, flossies, cow ears and snouts, pig tails, knuckle bones, moo tubes, hooves, peanut butter, cheese, and eggs. We stay away from rawhide and anything with "no-no ingredients" like by-products, Mystery Meat, gluten, corn, soy, grains that aren't whole grains, BHA/BHT, ethoxyquin, and artificial colors/preservatives.

Best Friends:
Several neighbors' dogs regularly come over to our house to play with the girls, but their best friend of all is Maggie. Maggie is a mutt who lives two doors down from us. She actually spends more time at our house playing with our dogs than anywhere else, including her own home. She used to be a stray until our neighbors adopted her. They still let her roam since she loves being able to visit all her friends around the block. She's well cared for though, and spayed. She's a very friendly, affectionate, smart girl and we all love having her over to visit. The dogs also like to play with a male Boxer named Doc who lives a little ways past us, a hound mix puppy who lives behind us, and a young Lab named Jack who lives across the street.

The Other Pets:
Bunny the horse; Pip Squeak and Amelia the Leopard Geckoes.

I've Been On Dogster Since:
January 12th 2008 More than 6 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:
699133


Meet my family
KittieCirrusWranglerJack (lives
with ex)
RileyLolaStitchLulu
Jessica
(8/26/87 -
6/7/03)
TigerKody

Meet my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals