Picture of Simon, a male Pointer

Photo Comments

Home:Northern VA, VA  
Age: 13 Years   Sex: Male   Weight: 51-100 lbs

   Leave a bone for Simon


Quick Bio:
-purebred-dog rescue

His mom, sister Peaches, his nyla-bone, loads of snuggling, and any sunny spot

Motorcycles, loud noise and being away from the action!

Favorite Toy:
Stuffed bear complete with squeaker

Favorite Food:
Anything Mom's got

Favorite Walk:
The woodland path behind our house, plenty of squirrels and birds to stalk

Best Tricks:
Learning to wag his tail and smile :)

Arrival Story:
Simon caught my eye on a VA rescue site, since I'd never seen a purebred dog at a shelter before. Absolutely gorgeous but definitely not without history, I fell in love. When I went out to see Simon, it was confirmed what I already suspected, he was not just an abused dog, but a sadly neglected one that had barely survived puppyhood. All he did was stand in the corner of his run and bark in complete fear of anything that came near him, except for one volunteer, Wendy. I took him for a walk and although he was shaky at best, I was in love. As we walked around some more and looked at the dogs there, it became clear that there was no way I was leaving without him, or at least starting the adoption work for him. As my roomate and I were mulling it over, his sister Peaches (I've also posted her here) decided she was snagging and bagging my roomate. That left us with one heck of a decision, which dog? After quite a few hours of deliberation, climbing the walls, and hefty discussion, the choice was made. We were getting both. So 2 weeks later home they came and while it was a lil' rocky at first, Simon is greatly improved. He's all sorts of waggly now, both with us and with strangers. The fear in him is almost gone, though I don't see him ever getting over that motorcycle hump. He went from squeezing himself into the furthest corner away imaginable, to wanting to be right by my side at all times and snuggly as any teddy bear. He's also healthy now, probably more so than any other time in his life, which has direct bearing on his overall sense of happiness and wellbeing. The humans in this house can't take credit for all the accomplishment, as most of that belongs to Peaches, his sister and former "inmate" at the shelter. Her outgoing nature and joyous personality have brought out the best in Simon. All in all, the past 6 months have been an adventure, but one that I would go through all over again since these guys have truly been the best thing since sliced bread!

The Groups I'm In:

I've Been On Dogster Since:
May 13th 2004 More than 10 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Dogster Id:

Meet my family

Meet my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals
See all my Pup Pals