SUNSHINE

there oughtta be a LAW AGAINST THIS

Wow, I cannot believe this site, I am astonished!
Puppymill online outlet! What do you guys make of this? Were you aware of it???

www.nextdaypets.com

this site came up when I Googled a "mini Beagle"


Asked by SUNSHINE on Nov 6th 2009 in Animal Welfare
Report this question Get this question's RSS feed Send this question to a friend



Status

  • Cast your vote for which answer you think is best!


Answers

Ruby

Unfortunately there are many sites like that online, so puppy mills advertise worldwide.

I hope you are not searching for a mini beagle to buy. Any reputable breeder would never breed these new mini breeds.


Ruby answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer


Bear, Princess, Coco, & Sheba

Ah, yes, nextdaypets...they treat the dogs like merchandise. Yep, perfect place for less-than-stellar breeders to get people who don't know better to buy their "product".
I've known about this site for quite a while. What astonished me was the Veggie Tales video ad at the top of the page when I clicked on the link. I just lost some of my respect for Big Idea Inc.

cookiemiller.tripod.com
~Tiffany, breeder-in-training


Bear, Princess, Coco, & Sheba answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer


Maxi

Sunshine, what a nice gsp you are.


Maxi answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer


Aster

It may be illegal. It could be a matter of calling it to the attention of the proper authorities.

In Vegie Tales defense. They may be paying Google to place ads for them and have no idea where.


Aster answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer


Stormy

Hmm.. out of curiosity's sake I took a closer look at some of the Ridgeback litters..

SOME, though VERY few, have CH parents, health clearances, chipped, the whole shebang.
While most of the time these sites are just used to make a quick buck for those BB's.. you cannot assume that EVERYBODY who uses the site to advertise their litters, or upcoming litters, are ALL backyard breeders. Which is probably why the site is still up and running. Then again, we all know.. or SHOULD know.. that any REPUTABLE breeders would NOT be putting their dogs up on this kind of site anyway!

It probably scans litter anouncements from other places and adds them to their site or something.. to constantly have "suppliers" from all over the country.


Stormy answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 1 Report this answer


Echo

I looked at the site..and I understand and respect what your saying. But that doesn't look like a puppy mill. If it was there wouldn't be people on there looking for puppies, and waiting for someone to contact them. With puppy mills there are an overstock on all puppies just to insure that that puppy is going to be there when an owner wants it. I checked more into it and saw that their were hundreds of breeders that have champion bloodlines. So I know that puppymills do advertising but I don't believe that's one of them.


Echo answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer


Charlie

While I haven't yet looked over the site, I would also definitely recommend against 'mini' Beagles. The smallest Beagle size you should be able to get actually stands at about 13" at the shoulder. Anything smaller, considered 'Mini', 'Pocket' or otherwise is probably because they bred runts to create other tiny dogs. Designer dogs. They tend to have a lot more health problems too.


Charlie answered 3 weeks ago. Helpful? Yes/Helpful: No 0 Report this answer